Secondary School Team

Secondary School Team

"…Outstanding secondary and post-16 curriculum.” DSIB 2014

DBS offers internationally recognised qualifications for entry into higher education or employment. From Year 7 to 13, DBS has a friendly all encompassing environment. The secondary school follows a strong British curriculum and tradition, but is international in many respects. The maximum long-term class size is 26, we offer a wide variety of extra curricular activities and opportunities for our students grow and learn beyond the classroom.

DBS nurtures creativity in all aspects of education, there are several school productions through the year involving all departments.

Brian HorwellHead of Secondary
Katherine RidleyHead of Year 8
Emma PennockHead of Sixth Form
Jonathan PennockDeputy Head of Secondary
Rebecca HeadleyHead of Year 9
Rosana TomkinsHead of Year 7
Nicholas ClarkeHead of Key Stage 4


Adrian KnowlesMaths Faculty Leader - Mathematics Teacher
Francesca SmithMathematics Teacher
Stephen FairfieldMathematics Teacher
Joanne KnowlesMathematics Teacher
Jayson McLeodMathematics Teacher
Iram AzizMathematics Teacher


Ian BarfootScience Faculty Leader - Science Teacher
Bilkis ManiarPhysics Teacher
Taruna SaggarScience Teacher
John CollinsChemistry Teacher
Rosanna TomkinsHead of Year 7 - Physics Teacher
Marco CampisiChemistry Teacher

Social Studies

Nicola HamerSocial Studies Faculty Leader
Eleanor WadeHumanities Faculty Leader / Geography Teacher
Sacha HunterHistory Teacher
Falguni ParmarPsychology Teacher
Thomas PellBusiness Studies and Economics
Rebecca HeadleyHead of Year 9 / Geography Teacher
Rebecca HendersonHistory Teacher
Laura HarrisMedia Studies Teacher
Gail SharrattBusiness Studies and Economics
Luke McHaleGeography Teacher
Philip WhiteHistory Teacher


Lara GambleHead of English
Tracey PallantEnglish Teacher
Katherine RidleyHead of Year 8 / English Teacher
Melanie WoodEnglish Teacher
Michelle KingEnglish Teacher
Graeme PawlettFrench Teacher
Valerie HodgsonFrench Teacher
Faye SimpsonModern Foreign Language Faculty Leader
Szofia DialkovaModern Foreign Languages Teacher
Richard KoenigModern Foreign Languages Teacher

Art, Music & Drama

Helen KermathHead of Music
Ryan ElliotMusic Teacher
Jonathan AireyArt Teacher
Lauren MayhewDrama Teacher

Design and Technology

Leanne PattersonDesign and Technology Teacher

ICT & Computer

Abdulaziz AhmedICT and Computer Studies Teacher

Special Education Needs Department (SEND)

Faryal SaeedSecondary SENDCO
Fozia AshrafLearning Support Assistant
Susan ReddingtonLearning Support Assistant
Sandhya BakerLearning Support Assistant
Jane DemainLearning Support Assistant